Gibson Brands Forums

funk guitar

ericlees

hi, anyone does play funk with an epi? which model? im new to this genre and i use my ibanez rg prestige (neck pup) or some between neck and bridge, a boss distortion and an ibanez weeping demon and works ok for me, but im looking for that funky tone, any epi that could make the job? i like screaming headless torsos=d>

You can get funk out of a dot with the kinda pups I have in' date=' yeah.

But I always see jaguars as funk guitars, really.[/quote']

??? A Jag is a surf/alt rock guitar ....true you can get funky on any fender...but you need the position 2 and 4 on a strat to be truely funky IMHO.

Besides a Fender, I would go with a semi-hollow. Although the guitar is a factor, the amp, pedals and most importantly the refinement of technique I believe is more important.

As a side note: an instructor on land and web suggested this book to me as a way of developing rhythm technique. I have a number of different books, so even though I haven't used it yet, the guy that recommended it to me has given me a few suggestions on books and so far all have been great.

Funk Guitar - The Essential Guide by Ross Bolton

The Funk Brothers, used Telecasters and ES 335's mostly. Might have been a Les Paul Custom or two, in there,

as well? A lot of James Brown's Funk stuff was ES-335's or ES-355's as well. So...??? Funk's more a style, anyway.

If you like the sound of a particular artist, see what he/she's playing (guitar, amp, pedal boards), and do likewise.

But, as in most cases, it's the player, not the gear. Just my 2-cents worth...

CB