Gibson Brands Forums

GC sales man, BS?

joe c.

So I'm looking at posibly buying another Les Paul, and GC has a couple marked down 1999, real pretty,

flame cherry bursts, BUT, the action is really high like over a 1/4" on both! I told them if the action was lower I would consider buying one and the "tech" tells me they are supposed to be high action on les pauls, REALLY? All my Studio's and my Classic all have really low fast action, and every les paul my friends have also, the sales boys also agreed with him.

I am new to Standards so just want to know others opinions. Would someone really pay 2-3k on something with high action?

So I'm looking at posibly buying another Les Paul, and GC has a couple marked down 1999, real pretty,

flame cherry bursts, BUT, the action is really high like over a 1/4" on both! I told them if the action was lower I would consider buying one and the "tech" tells me they are supposed to be high action on les pauls, REALLY? All my Studio's and my Classic all have really low fast action, and every les paul my friends have also, the sales boys also agreed with him.

I am new to Standards so just want to know others opinions. Would someone really pay 2-3k on something with high action?

That is total bullsh#t. When I bought mine they told me it came set up from the factory( plecked ). The action was really pretty nice on it except for a few buzzes that turned out to be me playing to hard, I had to learn to play with a lighter touch. There are setup videos on youtube, and setup instruction on Gibson.com. If you want the guitar, tell them to set it up the way YOU want it ,and that you don't like the extra high action that some ****** thinks is normal. I guess the Guitar Center here is an exception, the tech here is pretty good. Good luck