Gibson Brands Forums

RabsWood update and new mystery wood

Rabs

Hello all (who are still watching :))

Ive been a bit quite the last few weeks or so.. Waiting for my fret tools to arrive so I can finish the first few builds off (proper fret files and a notched edge which I realised is quite an important thing to have)...

Plus ive bee organising the business side of things and I am now an officially registered sole trader :D which is both exciting and very scary.. but as always I will take it as it comes... and I should be setting up a web site pretty soon now (been waiting to finish the first few builds fully first).

But today I decided to get on with cutting and making bodies.. that way when I do get of the ground I will have a good start and can hit the ground running..

So I had this nice big bit of wood... I have no idea what sort of wood it is but it is hard (anyone who wants to guess (or knows)please go ahead :)).. And this is what it looks like when I get it, very rough and I have no idea whats under there.

DSC_0341_zps50a96b2c.jpg

After some sanding its looking promising

DSC_0342_zpsbc014b08.jpg

And oohhh.. NICE!! :) (still don't know what it is :))

DSC_0344_zps3ae735c7.jpg

Its not Oak or Ash, kind of inbetween (maybe a type of Ash?)

DSC_0345_zps7a91b747.jpg

And the other side

DSC_0349_zpsded85ad8.jpg

But really who cares lol.. even though I do want to find out.. But for now what I know is it will make two solid one piece bodies

DSC_0350_zps4d1be704.jpg

Ohhhhhh, they will finish nice [love]

DSC_0353_zpsa9a90d53.jpg

Also, when I started all of this, I was using pine.. and I still want to do some pine bodies so the last time I was at my wood supplier I picked these bits up.. that need gluing

DSC_0355_zps4b275b7b.jpg

Which I really like the grain of (and it smells nice when you cut it :))

DSC_0356_zps5575a45c.jpg

And I will have enough for two bodies :D

DSC_0357_zps25eca72f.jpg