Gibson Brands Forums

My Les Paul Studio, Ruby Red

Silvercrow

Hi Everybody!

Well, I sold, traded, swapped until I finally got what I should have gone for in the first place. Introducing "Scarlet", 2000 Les Paul Studio, Ruby Red, with 490R / 498T pickups.

I'm still learning about the model- I've read where the Ruby Red was part of the "Gem" color series at one point? Anyway...I LOVE the tone and the looks of this beauty. I never thought I'd consider a red guitar except for the "Vintage Red" which I've always admired. Loving this so far!

It's got the smaller trapezoid markers but the fretboard figure is prominent and I'm liking it this way.

I think the figure in the top is beautiful! Plays VERY well. So nice to have a guitar I'm not trying to make into something it's not! You'd think after all the years I've been alive I'd know not to try and compromise on what I really want.

It has a "reptile" type case with no name badge- really nice. I'll post some more pics and maybe someone could identify it for me? Thanks! Let me know what you all think!

Brian

Les20Paul20Studio20Ruby20Red20008.jpg

Les20Paul20Studio20Ruby20Red20014.jpg

lovely guitar Brian - enjoy [thumbup]

Ruby Red was a Gem colour but I'm almost certain Gems were all P90's so you might have to do some investigation into Gibson colour options that year etc (which is an interesting exercise) or maybe someone here will know about the 2000 range. I like the studios in these solid coulours, I tend to notice the lack of body binding (neck binding doesn't interest me) on the studio bursts more, but the solid colours like this I really dont notice it. nice score!!

Hi Brian, Scarlet is a beauty [thumbup] lovely colour and wood grain. It's great you've found 'the one'. Nothing beats that feeling when you find a guitar and play it for the first time and its as if you've always had that guitar.

I had the same with my SG, bonded straight away :)