Gibson Brands Forums

Salvaging the 490/498

Zentar

This very set of 490/498 has already been replaced by SDs. This 490/498 set sits in a box up in a closet. My question is a academic or theoretical question. Can the 498/490

be saved by using one of them and throwing the other one in the trash or should both be thrown in the trash?

If you kept one which would you keep? What PU would you match the remaining "keeper" with?

OR.......

Should I send them off to be rewound to 59, BB or Classic specs at $60 a pop?

Or is the 490/498 pair sonically worthless?

Hello!

I am not good at it to give a proper advice.

Donny (a respected former Forum member) did swap magnets in Gibson pickups to change it from one model to another. Like, He put AlNiCo IIs into 498 to make it a hot-wound 57 Classic. You can find him on this Facebook site for advice: https://www.facebook.com/lespaulclassictraditional

Cheers... Bence

This very set of 490/498 has already been replaced by SDs. This 490/498 set sits in a box up in a closet. My question is a academic or theoretical question. Can the 498/490

be saved by using one of them and throwing the other one in the trash or should both be thrown in the trash?

If you kept one which would you keep? What PU would you match the remaining "keeper" with?

OR.......

Do you like the 490R? Maybe a 490T would be a better match for it than the 498. The thing I don't like about 490/498 together is that *to me* they don't sound like they belong in the same guitar together.

I'm apparently different though - My '14 Studio Pro came with a 57 neck and BB Pro bridge. Yuuuuch!! A lot of folks really like that combo though.

Now I'm finally getting to the point. Without knowing what you like/dislike about the 490/498 as a set, it's hard to make suggestions

I have a pair that I'm not using right now, I keep them in case I find a SG / V or Explorer-body without pickups.

Sadly we don't have no Stratosphere here in Europe.