Gibson Brands Forums

NGD - Which strings?

Dave F

I got an L5 Premier Acoustic today (will post pictures later)

The dealer set it up with electric strings. I definitely want more sound out of it.

Which strings are all of you arch tops using?

Thanks,

Dave

There are a LOT of ways you can go with it.

Roundwound nickel types will give that "electric" sound while being a lot louder. Flats will give the mellow Jazz sound, and on a GOOD "Jazzbox", will also be somewhat warm and woody and dynamic while STILL being mellow.

Could always do acoustic bronze type too.

Thing is with archtops, they are actually louder than they seem. Sometimes when they may seem quiet, the sound still is getting across the room, and still being heard with a lot of other instruments, even if it isn't "out front", if that makes sense.

These are the strings I've been playing on My L-5CES and L-7 acoustic for many years. Went through many string experiments on my archtops, and had settled on D'Addario "Chromes",... until these were recommended to me by John Pizzarelli. I've been hooked ever since.

https://www.stringsbymail.com/la-bella-black-nylon-tape-wound-800-electric-guitar-medium-14-67-4563.html

As these are not available at the Big Box, or even Mom & Pop stores, the above link is also where I buy them.

These are the strings I've been playing on My L-5CES and L-7 acoustic for many years. Went through many string experiments on my archtops, and had settled on D'Addario "Chromes",... until these were recommended to me by John Pizzarelli. I've been hooked ever since.

https://www.stringsbymail.com/la-bella-black-nylon-tape-wound-800-electric-guitar-medium-14-67-4563.html

As these are not available at the Big Box, or even Mom & Pop stores, the above link is also where I buy them.

Larry, would you use those same strings on a purely acoustic L-7? The manufacturer lists them for use on electric archtops.