Gibson Brands Forums

Interesting....had my new plek'd LP professionally set up..findings??

xxxlshane

Hey Guys...

I took my new LP traditional in for a standard set up by my guy and was surprised what he said when I picked it up.

"the intonation wasn't even close" were is exact words. Now excuse my ingnarance if I am showing it here when it comes to Pleck'ing. Is it just to level out all the frets or should it have also contibuted to "perfect" set up and intonation.

Again I am fairly new to this so please don't hammer me too hard if I am way out in left field.

BTW...it came out very nice after the set up. Even more of a pleasure to play.

Thanks,

PLEK does the neck... doesn't set intonation.

also, just b/c it was PLEKed doesn't mean it will be a perfect set up for you. some people like higher/lower action than others. what you should expect is for the frets and nut to be right. then, when you have a personalized set up done, it will be perfect. you have to have the nut/frets right first so that's what the PLEK does. the rest of the setup is up to the individual player. it is expected that when you buy a $2K guitar, the shop should give it a setup for free based on your own personal style and preferences.

as for the intonation.... yeah, Gibson ships them with the saddles in that basic stairstep pattern. it is my one gripe with non custom shop Gibsons. they really could do better. even if it wasn't perfect, they could at least make an effort. they usually ship them with the low E and G all the way back, A and B in the middle, then D and high E all the way up.... it's like the extreme version of the shape usually created with proper intonation set. i wish they would at least TRY to do that part right.

but yeah, the plek if for frets and nut, and it's impossible to setup a guitar in a manner that is perfect for everyone.

Thanks for being gentle with the hammers like I said still kinda new.