Gibson Brands Forums

Back To Normal

Sgt. Pepper

Well in the USA its a few days after Labor Day. For anyone that has kids between the age of 5 or 6 and 17 or 18, means school is back in session. I graduated HS and I was still 17. For some parents school is just free babysitting. The area I live at is tourist town, and the summer is the worst time to live here. Every year is the Blue Crab Fest, which happened a few months back and coming up is the Shrimp Fest. Of course there is Bike Week, when all the loud Harley's roll in during the summer, and then the week after that is another Bike Week with the Bikers being African-American, their bikes of choice are mostly those 3 wheel bikes. Grocery stores get mobbed, good luck going out to eat to a decent restaurant without having to wait an hour to get seated, the AYCE crab leg places have lines a mile long, and  there are more golf carts and mopeds out and about due to the tourist renting them (cause as a tourist you gotta do what the locals do). Over the past 4 or 5 years of coming here, and then finally moving here full time a few years back, I have seen traffic go from barley anything to it being incredibly stupid now. Now it will just mostly be weekenders coming. My wife and I can finally go out to get some crab legs and actually get stuff we need at the store. 

I never lived in a "tourist town", but I can imagine it could be pretty annoying at the height of it's "season".   Except for Las Vegas, which is always at a season's height, so what you find an annual PITA is more or less "normal" for them.    And I suppose where you live the lifetime locals have adapted to it so it doesn't seem so bad to them as it does to you, a comparative "newcomer"  Give it a few more years.  You'll adapt.  [wink]

As my Mom would probably say;  "Either adapt, move or just shut up."

Whitefang