Gibson Archtop - Need help identifying

JO'C

I'm looking at an estate sale and this looks interesting:

LniArCM.jpg

Listed as a Johnny Smith

uADywCX.jpg

widMrUi.jpg

7pPjRNO.jpg

It looks good from what the pictures show but I have been unable to find an example of a Johnny Smith with the pots on the body top or the same tail piece. The pics I've seen on the web have the knobs on the pick guard. I have a 1969 ES-335 and a 2004 CS-336 and have owned lots of Gibsons over the years including 6 LP's, a Firebird, Explorer, Johnny A, etc. but I have no experience with Gibson jazz guitars. The S/N indicates 2005 and it's a Gibson USA model. The head stock and inlays look like a Johnny Smith, Le Grand and Super 400. I don't see the normal telltale signs of a fake but I wanted to see if anyone knows what it is before I drive 120 miles to check it out. There is no pic of a sticker inside the f-hole which would indicate the model. Any advice/knowledge would be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks,

JO'C

I'm a bit doubful about this one: the body shape, board inlays and bound f-holes are right for a Johnny Smith but not the pickup which looks as if it has been added later.   All Johnny Smith models had the pickup(s) attached to the end of the neck or to the pickguard, and controls attached to the pickguard AFAIK.

Wrong TRC.  The tailpiece is more Byrdland than JS, the scratchplate is a bit big and slightly wrong shape...and I don't think those are the original tuners either.   There would be no point replacing the original high-end waffleback tuners with those.  Plus the headstock inlay diamond looks plasticky from the pic.

I don't think this is a 2005 JS as surely it would have been a Custom Shop job/limited run with a cs number...? :-k

Not conclusive - experts needed - but very dubious IMO.

Google for Gibson Johnny Smith images and you will see what I mean. 

Edited by jdgm