Gibson Brands Forums

Force Yourself...

Murph

If you're like me, summer is coming and you've got projects galore, things on hold, things waiting for other things, and other things you haven't even thought of yet.

I have to maintain of lot of ground and prefer to do it myself rather than have other people trapsing around my stuff.

And, I'm a builder/tinkerer from way back and love it when I'm feeling right. 

I find myself going days in the summertime without touching a guitar, and then I'll feel guilty and try to "force it" and sometimes that works, sometimes it doesn't. 

I'm blessed to have a weekly jam with some old timers doing "old time" music and that helps.

I haven't been able to spend as much time with my new round neck as I'd like. I grabbed it yesterday for the first time in weeks and realized I can still do more than I thought I could, it comes back quickly.

Anyhoo, don't be slacking just because you get busy this summer...

This past winter here was not all that bad so I got more done that I usually would have.  And as this is the first winter in the past six or so where my arthritis has not acted up to the point of sidelining me, I also did more playing.  But I have no routines or schedules when it comes to picking up a guitar.  That would make it too much like work and I play solely for enjoyment.  

I work on the dust method. If I see my Bird is getting dusty on her stand I have waited too long between practice sessions. So I grab a micro cloth, shine it up and devote at least a couple hours practice/new songs. She is always on her stand in my bar. Calling me. Mocking me. Begging me. "Play me already!" Plus it "forces me" to make myself a stiff drink and forget the rest of the fced up world for a few. Think I'll head over there right now and see if she needs a dusting off.

cheers

• Haha 1