Gibson Brands Forums

Am I the only guitarist in the world that can't get the hang of a pick?

EdgarHF

I am basically a fingerstyle player using a pick maybe 1% of the time. I had not been practicing scales much and mostly learning new songs when practicing. The past few days I have decided I better get to doing scales again so I pulled my old copy of Mel Bays Complete Guitar Improvisation Book out of the closet. Running through scales I am finding I am utterly hopeless with a pick. Is anybody else out there pick challenged?

I got my start musically as a bass player, so that got me into the habit of index and middle fingers, sometimes a thumb. Then I switched to lap slide, so again, thumb, index, and middle fingers. I've been playing for 14 years now, and I cant use a pick for the life of me. My ring and pinky fingers are equally useless. Back in my smoking days, I'd hold my cigarette between my ring and pinky fingers during a song.

It made for some smokin' solos.

Edgar......I'm with you.....I just can't get into the pick. Sometimes I use a thumb pick.....just like to 'feel' the guitar I guess

Just to clarify,I actually do want to learn how to use a pick. I think it would make me a more rounded player. I think I will always be predominately a fingerstyle player (I have to many weird chord positions I use that will not work with a pick). I am finding that using a pick is harder than one might think, at least from a fingerpickers prospective.

I couldn't use a pick either for years until I decided to learn how to play the mandolin. I didn't really learn how to play the mandolin well but I got use to using a pick and I love it. You get more dynamic and snap!

Just keep at it every day until the pick starts to feel natural. You haven't been playing with a pick, so your finger style ability is far ahead of your picking skill - you will have to be patient with yourself until it seems easier.