Gibson Brands Forums

Strat Pics- kinda

Silenced Fred

COOL! I do remember a couple of these in possession friends. Great Necks' date=' ok Stock Pickups. Looks like yours is ripe for modding and making yours.

Can't wait to see what you make of it. [-([/quote']

I want to swap the pups, the neck is sweet. I stripped the finish off and it plays and feels so great! [flapper]

I want to change the bridge, like I talked about, I kinda want to put a bigsby, but I don't know how that would work (with string angle and all)

Any advice is welcomed and appreciated

yeah, I'd get rid of that Kahler (even though it says Fender, it's made by Kahler). Before they started using Floyd Rose lic. parts, Kahlers were Stiff, "Unmusical" Monsters.

The easy thing to do would be replace it with a new locking tremolo, there's a million good ones nowadays (back then there was only one Floyd Rose). I wouldn't be surprised if you got a Bigsby to work, won't know till you try. I have no experience with Bigsby's, so I'm talkin' outa my Hat on that one.

If you want to wire in a Tone Pot you could use one of those Stacked Pots, but then your Push/Pull option is off the table.

I don't like the Kahler, and I don't know if I want to go with a locking tremolo. I don't use it at all, and that's why I'm thinking either a bigsby (I have only ever seen one Strat with a bigsby before) or a hardtail.

I'm not worried about a tone knob, I'll just use the amp [crying]

I want this to be simple, and I am going to build a Strat using Warmoth neck and body, Wilkinson tremolo and I am undecided on pickups so far.

That'll keep you busy.

Yup. Modding this' date=' then save up the money, drop the 800 on parts for the Custom Strat build, then give the summer to that [crying I am still undecided whether to make one, or go with an American Standard, the options I am getting are really similar to that, and with the time costs, and for a grand, it comes with a case. We will see I guess