Gibson Brands Forums

Ebay threats

ksdaddy

I've been selling on ebay for 11 years. Feedback rating of 4265. Actually 4784 positives but for a long time "repeat" customers didn't count more than once.

No negatives. None.

A few weeks back I sold an item for $31. It was a tiny bit oversized in the eyes of priority mail; it would have been some crazy dollar amount to ship priority, like $25. So I shipped by parcel post, which is slow. Very slow. But that fact was stated in the auction. No question how it was going to ship. I will do delivery confirmation and insurance IF YOU ASK FOR IT AND PAY FOR IT. Otherwise, you're on your own.

So this guy has emailed me a half dozen times *****ing that his item hasn't come in yet. Of course I can't find the post office receipt to at least prove it was shipped, even though that won't help track it. He is getting pretty abusive. I think. I told him there was nothing I could do, and if he would like to carry it to the next level, he should put in a claim to Paypal. That won't get me off the hook but at least it will follow protocol.

I pointed out that I wasn't about to put my 100% positive 4000+ feedback in jeopardy for a $30 part. He countered by pointing out I hadn't left him feedback yet and implied I had made my ebay career extorting feedback.

We're talking a total of $41 here. It's not worth my time. I told him if it hasn't arrived by the end of the week I would just give him his damn $41 back and be done with it. He could be lying through his teeth about receiving it, and he may lie and say he didn't get it this week either. At this point I don't care.

Lesson learned, I will never, EVER sell anything on ebay without charging for delivery confirmation and insurance. I've always tried to keep shipping costs down by trimming the fat but no more. Side note, in eleven years I have never lost a package or had an insurance claim.

I don't know what kind of response I'm looking for from you guys, I'm just crabbing.