Gibson Brands Forums

Starting Out Slide Guitar

adlankj

Why is it so hard? I've been picking up for a few months now but I keep putting it down because it just sounds like total ***. I'm sure I'm muting all the strings I'm not playing, but it just sounds sloppy (and not in a good way) and terrible. I know, it takes time to get to a point where I like what I play, but damn. I figured by now I'd be better than the day I started. My goal is to sound like Derek Trucks, but I'd be happy to just not sound like sh*t at this point.

Any suggestions?

I have one guitar setup just for slide. I raise the string higher then I do on my

other guitars. If I play on one of the other guitar it doesn't sound good at all due

to the low string height. Also are you tuning to an open chord? Most of the slide

songs I play are in open E or G.

CW

Start Easy and work up to Hard.

It's easier to play slide on an Acoustic with High Action, an Electric would be alright, but they let you hear every bad note very clearly, acoustics are much more forgiving. A resonator like the Epiphone Biscuit would be perfect.

Experiment with Open Tunings and learn a couple Standard Slide Tunes like "Rollin' and Tumblin'", "Dust My Broom", or "Boot Hill".

After a while you can work up to an Electric with high action. Then, before you know it, the action on your regular player will feel just fine for slide. Billy Gibbons and Derek Trucks use low action and switch to finger style effortlessly. That's the Bar, IMO.

{EDIT} Transpose your own licks and riffs from Fingers to Slide. They're already in your Bag of Trick, might as well bring 'em along.

In large part I'd agree with First Measure...

Here's a variation on starting simple and working up to difficult, too... tune to that open chord, then just play it with roughly a barre sort of technique.

Then mess with whatever you want to use for a slide.