Gibson Brands Forums

Any tips on learning to sing?

Andre S

and play guitar at the same time?

Usually I can't talk much when playing guitar...either I say something noone can understand or my guitar playing deteriorates fast...

But I need to learn to sing first before doing both

When I was a "kid," I wanted to sing like folks I heard on the radio. When I started playing guitar, I dunno, it didn't seem that hard, but I kept getting told, "your voice just doesn't make it." So I'd do Roy Orbison in the showers and kinda whatever I felt like sounding like singing with family.

My Dad told me I was trying too hard. Hmmm. I think in retrospect he was right, and the same outlook probably even damaged my guitar playing into being perhaps too mechanical.

I was pretty self conscious. Everybody else, it seemed, had an idea of how a "singer" should sound.

In my first "rock days," I was told the voice was so outa whack I should just do the Bob Dylan copies.

Finally when I was doing country I was with one group where my voice was horrid 'cuz it didn't sound like the stars, and then another group where it was, "Who the hell cares, go ahead and sing..."

I think that latter was the best thing to happen to me.

The folkie thing was a good deal 'cuz you just did your basic whatever on the guitar and sang along. Since I'd been playing music or singing harmony one way or another as long as I can remember, it just didn't seem that odd or that much of a problem. Vocal quality was, but mostly because I kept thinking I should sound like somebody else.

Bottom line is just do it if you like the idea and want to. Do it for you.

Start with some reeeally simple stuff you could sing in your sleep and it's only got a couple of chords to do "rhythm" with. Maybe the kid stuff you've heard forever. Think of singing first and just a basic guitar chording second. Start singing, then add a little guitar.