Gibson Brands Forums

Will the Custom Shop Ever Take Custom Orders in the Near Future?

SGplayer1994

I'm a sophomore in high school, and I'd really like a customized guitar as a graduation present. Gibson makes my favorite guitars (SG's and Firebirds), but from what I hear, it's impossible to have one made unless you are a famous artist. All I'm looking for to be honest is a custom paint job and maybe upgraded pick ups and a chrome/engraved truss rod cover. Not really super customized, and if I am right that custom orders aren't being taken from usual customers, just wondering, why not? Many people (myself included) would be willing to pay a pretty penny to get a custom guitar, and let's face it, if they mark up a guitar $1,000 for a custom paint color, seems like they'd be making some easy cash and I'd be getting my dream guitar.

So....back to my question (if anybody has any insight to the answer):

Will Gibson's Custom Shop begin to make custom guitars for your "average joe" musician in the near future?

Thanks in advance.

Wait until production slows a bit more, they'll be soliciting high-end orders again.

Doesn't hurt to try now though, give 'em a call and let 'em know what you're thinking.

See what they say.

Blackie's probably right on the money from what my limited Custom Shop experience tells me....

I just spoke to the manager of the local Sam Ash (yesterday) , where i get most of my gear , and he told me , that because of the flooding and water problems they have, Gibson will not be putting out anything for 3 months. If this is true i'm not sure, but that's what i've been told. the value of your Gibson may have just gone up. If you go to the Gibson web site the store is closed. I guess they got flooded out too.

The wait for a real custom will most likely be longer now.

All I'm looking for to be honest is a custom paint job and maybe upgraded pick ups and a chrome/engraved truss rod cover.

You don't need the Custom Shop for this.