Gibson Brands Forums

Questions about bridges

dbirchett

I have just purchased a 2007 Unsung Sheraton to which I am going to add a B7 Bigsby. I am thinking that I want to also add a roller bridge. I kind of went through this quandry when I added a Bigsby to my Guild X-170 but that used an arch-top floating bridge so I could replace the whole unit (although finding one low enough to fit was somewhat problematic -- oh well, different problem, different forum).

Anyway, I am somewhat new to Gibson/Epiphone guitars and parts and this whole issue of different bridge sizes and incompatibility is a little confusing to me so if you would bear with me and answer a few questions, I would appreciate it. My other guitar player tried to help me understand last night and helped but I don't know if I really have it down.

1. I have read in posts that Sheratons seem to have a problem with bridge incompatibility but this seemed to primarily be Samick Sheratons. Is that correct? What is the post spacing on the Samicks? Mine appears to be 2 29/32" (extapolating because my ruler only goes down to 1/16" marks).

2. There appear to be two sizes of Gibson Bridges both of which use the 2 29/32" post spacing. One uses skinny posts and has thumwheels that go up and down on threaded posts and the other uses thicker posts and has a straight screw slot at the top. Am I correct that these are the ABR-1 and the Nashvile systems?

3. Is there a way to mount an ABR-1 bridge on a Nashville style guitar? What about the other way and put a Nashville style bridge on an ABR guitar (whithout pulling the studs of course)?

4. If I look at aftermarket bridges from the various parts sources (StewMac, GFS, WD, etc) are they likely to be compatible as long as I stay with the right post size?

5, For those who have put on a roller bridge are there ones that are recommended or not? I have heard complaints in the past that roller bridges can be tone/sustain suckers. What has been your experience?