Gibson Brands Forums

Strap or No Strap

Thawk Dean

I'm an absolute newbie/novice/beginner. I've been at this for about 2 months with the help of my "coach". I have not been using a strap. I've felt sitting with the guitar on my lap was easier to see the fret board and "peak" at my fingering. I just decided to try a strap. It seems easier for strumming than having it sit on my lap. The guitar is in a particular place and I don't have to hold on to it with my right strumming arm. Has anyone had this same experience? what are your thoughts?

Also, when I registered a few days ago, I was asked to post some pics of my 1991 Epi PR350E. It's my first and probably the last one I'll own, so I'm really happy with it. BUT, how do I get pics posted on this forum?

If you prefer to strap, then strap. I strap when I sit or stand. The guitar, when I'm seated, is off my lap. That way no matter whether I sit or stand the guit tar is always in the same place, relative to my belly button. That's the key to developing muscle memory for fretting and strumming, not changing things up: Sitting, the guit tar is here. Standing, it is here.

Never could get the hang of a 'jazz' style of sitting with the body off to one's side. But, if that works for some folks, then so be it.

hurm, from my tought, play sitting is more comfortable and clean then standing.

strap not effect ur play.

and 1 more things you will not look cool when strap the guitar too high.

just be like slash!

its cool!

Strap when standing, no strap (necessary) when sitting. You might also consider using a little stool for your left foot so you can shift the guitar to your left knee - it really takes the strain off the back if you're practicing for long stretches.

We had a funny thread going about this awhile back, lemme see if I can find it...

Here it is: http://forums.epiphone.com/Default.aspx?g=posts&t=9218