Gibson Brands Forums

Need help. Real or Fake? *Warning - 14 Pictures*

echyfingers

Hi guys,

Would definitely appreciate your help here. I'm getting my first guitar and chanced upon this lovely looking guitar but I cannot tell whether it is a fake! It claims to be a Epiphone Les Paul Custom Ebony. It's serial number suggest that the guitar was made in China in March 2005. I have read about identifying fake Epiphones from multiple sources and I still cannot be certain whether this is genuine. If you guys can help and have a quick look at the pictures and share with me your opinions on why it is a fake (or real), that will be much appreciated (not to mention you will earn karma points!). :D/

Thank you kind souls for looking!

DSC01194.jpg

DSC01195.jpg

DSC01196.jpg

DSC01197.jpg

DSC01198.jpg

DSC01199.jpg

DSC01200.jpg

DSC01201.jpg

DSC01201.jpg

DSC01203.jpg

DSC01204.jpg

DSC01205.jpg

DSC01206.jpg

DSC01207.jpg

Cheers,

Echy

Well, I'm no expert, but it looks like a very nice guitar to me. And looks legit. I see nothing that sends off alarms.

It would be helpful to know the asking price however. And where did you see this, ebay? Craigslist? If from ebay it's important to look at feedback and other things.

But from the pics, and not knowing the asking price, it looks good to me.

Welcome to the forum!

Hmmmm... tricky. From what I can tell the knob positions are weird. The volume usually isn't right under the bridge like that but a bit off to the side (look at Brad's avatar above this post - see how the closest volume knob on his blue LP isn't directly under the bridge but off to the right? That's more typical positioning). Also the peg holding the A string seems a bit too close to the edge of the headstock. Could just be lazy Epi factory work but I doubt it, it's not a common mistake that's made. I'm not 100% though.

The scratch plate has been removed. Seeing the original plate (if it still exists) would help determine.