Gibson Brands Forums

fake on ebay

plasticpigeon

Hello people

I believe this guitar to be a fraud, should I report it???

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180587460580&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

why do you think it is fake?

you may be the seller trying to find out if us eagle eyed gibson players can spot your deception...jus sayin :-"

100% positive feedback, 837 transactions.

High-end/low volume guitar - marketed to probably the most discerning Gibson buyers there are.

Clear, concise listing with considerable detail and history.

Impeccable spelling, grammar.

Fake?

Hmmmmm.....

[blink][unsure]

I'm not seeing it - though I'll admit I'm no expert on the big Gibson boxes.

Educate us, please.

It looks nice.

The seller has a good record.

But the one headstock shot - from the back - doesn't quite show the cleft in the top-center of the headstock. And there's some kind of finish shadow where the back of the headstock meets the neck. A bit of concern there. Sometimes a neck gets replaced and this one isn't a Gibson neck.

And there's no pic of the front of the headstock.

The quality of the wood top and sides looks a too low to me.

I'd email and ask for a pic of the front of the headstock.

I not saying it's a fake, but I wouldn't buy it.

!B8vswngCWk~$(KGrHqIOKiIEzRzyC-coBM392evce!~~_3.JPG

"This guitar is in pristine condition..."

Not by my definition.

With all due respect to Neo, as I am sure he just gave the ad a cursory glance, but

"I call your attention upon the fact that considering a vintage instrument, I cannot certify this date of production. Please make an idea for yourself..."

"REMEMBER : I am no profesional luthier nor woodcrafstman, so the below data are given to the best of my hability, but I can not offer guarantee on it"

is most certainly not correct English grammar, and I count at least 2 spelling errors.

I didn't read the whole thing... I picked these up on my own brief scan, and it's enough for me.

My conclusion: