Gibson Brands Forums

My Project for the next couple of days

ShredAstaire

I'm installing new pickups and coil taps on each of them on my Epiphone SG...

This is my first mod of any kind so while this type of thing may take an hour for some of you, i"m expecting it to take a lot longer for me hahaha. I've never done any soldering before and i'm finding it challenging.

AndyR has given me some great advice and I will try to use all of it and i will fill you in on the result. (Hopefully its not a ruined guitar!)

Wish me luck y'all1

This is my first mod of any kind so while this type of thing may take an hour for some of you, i"m expecting it to take a lot longer for me hahaha. I've never done any soldering before and i'm finding it challenging.

AndyR has given me some great advice and I will try to use all of it and i will fill you in on the result. (Hopefully its not a ruined guitar!)

Wish me luck y'all1

Good luck man...I like you have no exp. with a soldering iron, so I would love to hear how you do, since I've been wanting to do the same thing to one of my guitars..hope it turns out great! [thumbup]

Soldering isn't difficult, but it is about "clean" and "enough".

Start with a clean iron/tip, and make sure that while you get both components hot enough for the solder to flow, don't linger to the point that you get too much heat where you don't want it (wire insulation, etc.)

And remember to make your physical connections tight before you add solder. Solder is not a substitute for structural integrity.

Good luck.

Hijack thread time, can anyone confirm that if you leave the soldering iron to long on a pot that the pot can go bad due to, overflow of heat?

I've never had it happen. The questions is why would you want to keep it on any longer than needed?

I've never had it happen. The questions is why would you want to keep it on any longer than needed?