Gibson Brands Forums

What is it about Gibson Acoustics?

brannon67

I have been playing for 30 years now, and have played many brands, but my Gibson and Epi are the best I have played. Just love the feel, the tone, the balance, everyting about Gibson acoustics. I traded my others. I will be getting an advanced jumbo model soon. So here is my question, What is it about Gibson acoustic guitars you guys like so much over all the other brands out there?

So, what other brands have you guys tried, and when was it that you made the switch to Gibson acoustics, over all the other brands?

Learned to play on a then-brand new 1964 Gibson LG-1. It was my only guitar, until I went shopping in the early 80s for what I assumed would be a Martin D-28. After winning every A/B contest I could think of, a Guild D-50 came home with me instead. Loved that guitar for almost 20 years, but then...but then....

I kept hearing, from all my favorite records, "the sound" I was after. And lo and behold, whenever I picked up my old LG-1, I heard that sound, and I eventually put the pieces together.

So I sold the Guild (which, btw, was a lovely, albeit heavy, instrument) and found, the same day, the Gibson jumbo that sang out to me. (We are still together, in the throes of happily-ever-after.)

I have yet to hold/play a Taylor that doesn't sound like every other Taylor--clean and clear tone but lacking (imo) dynamic range. I played a couple of Breedloves with similar results--more range than the Taylors, but still more limited than the good Gibsons.

The good Martins are quite good. They are satisfying and balanced, but none growl quite enough for me.