Gibson Brands Forums

BASS GUITAR?

S t e v e

bass is for people that can't play a 6 string?...something my cousin said many yrs ago but has stuck in my mind ever since, i don't play bass and don't aspire too but what are your thoughts on my cousins above comments?

Playing bass well, is harder than guitar........Theory is much more important, etc etc......When a band's bassist s*cks, it shows.......

Bass is perhaps more important than a band's guitarest.....Guitarest's skill levels can be all over the map, and might still sound good;

Bass players don't really have that option......

( When I play bass, I prefer a five string fretless ).......

I was a guitarist from 12-37 years old. Both electric and classical. Played 6-string electric and 10-string classical. Also studied Chinese Pipa (lute) for 5 years with a professor from Shanghai. Then turned to mostly bass since 37 years old, which I love even more than guitar. So I would say that your cousin's comment is not true.

I have heard of other guitarists who switch to bass later in their careers, or years.

However, both instruments are played (physically) and approached (mentally) in a totally different manner. So a great guitarist may not make the greatest bassist even though he may have the chops, and vice versa. But that is more of a head thing than a hands thing.

Playing bass well, is harder than guitar........Theory is much more important, etc etc......When a band's bassist s*cks, it shows.......

Bass is perhaps more important than a band's guitarest.....Guitarest's skill levels can be all over the map, and might still sound good;

Bass players don't really have that option......

( When I play bass, I prefer a five string fretless ).......

Well said, and absolutely true.