Gibson Brands Forums

Echoplex?

Sancho Panza

Does anyone on this board own one? I've been reading magazines and seeing that Echoplexes were very "in" in the late 60's (I know that Roky Erickson carried one with him like a baby). There are a few models, can anyone tell what's the difference between them since I have zero knowledge. I know that once you can maneuver it, you can get the craziest sounds out of it.

Does anyone on this board own one? I've been reading magazines and seeing that Echoplexes were very "in" in the late 60's (I know that Roky Erickson carried one with him like a baby). There are a few models, can anyone tell what's the difference between them since I have zero knowledge. I know that once you can maneuver it, you can get the craziest sounds out of it.

I know Jimmy Page used one a good bit. I have even seen one for sale at GC ( used and needing work ) for around $1500. All that said, I am not really familiar with their workings.

I had one...the EP3 and I stupidly sold it years ago, in the early 90s. Man, I wish I kept all the gears I had,.... The only thing I have left for that echoplex is the original tape cartridge....hmmm I wonder how much these are going for? its in mint unused condition and still in the box with papers.

My buddy has had an old Ehco-Plex for over 30 years and we used it exclusively in a few bands we were in together. The Echo-Plex can be pretty temperamental if not treated with kid gloves.I don't know much about the oeration of them as my buddy-quite understandably-wouldn't let anyone near his to adjust it because it was so touchy.All I know that there's very few echo rigs that can come close to the lush enveloping echoes and slapbacks from the EchoPlex.

BTW if you want a high quality delay without the hassles of tapes look for a used Ibanez 1000 or 2000,they can be found going for as low as $125 on ebay etc. and they give bullet-proof reliability plus tape-echo type effects.