Gibson Brands Forums

Is it just me?

daveinspain

I hit the pick-up selection switch while playing by mistake a lot changing the sound when I don't want to, specially on rhythms....

What if the switch was between the bridge volume and tone control a little more towards the bottom edge of the guitar? On a Les Paul....

I guess I just have to improve my technique.... [blush]

Just more "quality time" with the Les Paul. I used to hit them by accident many years ago when I didn't own one and played someone else's. Now that I own them and am used to them, it's a non-issue.

I can't say that I've ever encountered that problem and I graduated the Pete Townshend/Chris Britton School Of Strumming with an honours degree...lol. I believe it's time to go back to the strumming woodshed and hone your strumming,a lot of people fail to spend enough time perfecting their strumming techniques so you are not alone in that for sure.

Guest farnsbarns

Dave, have you tried loosening the switch and turning it 90 degrees so it switches left and right rather than up and down? Just a thought.

Dave you are simply strumming closer to the bridge pickup, I can lay down some serious pendulum strumming downstrokes or anything in between on a Les Paul without ever hitting that switch.

On my Strat it is a real problem when strumming, I have to strum closer to the bridge pickup...and then the string control is very different then, so not a lot of strumming on my Strat for me.

Take it easy on your controls [scared] .