Gibson Brands Forums

I can only have one

Bongoscot

I have recently decided to start saving for a Les Paul and I am well on my way. I have decided that I can only have 1 more fine guitar. I am not a pro and I dont want to be a collector. I am also a working class guy with family and other responsibilities, so, my next guitar is it, my lifetime guitar. Problem is there are too many models that I want. I started saving with my mind on a LP Classic Custom. Since then I have sort of shifted my interest toward the new standard. But now I am really jumping the ship and have started lusting after the Custom shop ES-339. How can this be? Why must Gibson make so many gorgeous instruments so as to put me in this position? I know that whatever I get I will love it, but I fear I will constantly be wondering if I made the right choice or would I have been happier with one of the others. 339 is so nice, so versitile, Les Paul Standard OOOHH it speaks to me, Classic Custom such value, my original plan. [omg]

Stick with the plan... Classic Custom is a great guitar... My first Les Paul was a Classic in cherry burst and I love that guitar. You can't go wrong, you'll have an amazing Les Paul with an amazing top. My classic has the 60's slim neck and is a pleasure to play. I'm not sure if the Custom Classic has the same neck or not. Make sure you play it first and it tells you, yes I'm your guitar buy me...

I am in the same boat as you. Not a pro, not a collector, working class stiff supporting a family.

I'm in denial that my Classic Custom is the last good guitar I will get. I've always wanted an SG but that's so far down

the list Timmy's playing it in the well.

My advise to you would be if this is your last, forget about price, forget about reasoning and logic. Go out and play them

all and take the one that feels the best in your hands.