Gibson Brands Forums

My dog is afraid of my amp...

burdger

So, I've always played acoustically until I recently bought my SG. I've been fiddling around with it without plugging it in until this weekend when I picked up a Rowland Cube-30. My dog never seemed to mind me playing. In fact, he would come and sit at my feet while I played a lot of the time. However, once I started playing around with my amp and the different effects, my dog runs and hides behind my wife and shakes uncontrollably. When she's not home and I play, he curls up on the couch and shakes like he's terrified that something is going to get him. The only other time I've seen him act like this is when I use the Shop Vac we have. Has anyone had any issues like this with pets before and have any ideas of how to make this better for him? I don't want to stop using the amp of course, but I also don't want to torture my dog!

I'm sorry to hear this but I don't think it will change. Many years ago when my Dad was alive he would be using tools in the garage and always a particular power drill would have the same effect on one of our dogs, even though she was in the house. We couldn't hear the noise but the dog could hear something unbearable and she would run away - literally miles, just run anywhere to get away from the noise. And this was a feisty little terrier who normally feared nothing.

So there may be some inaudible-to-us hum or buzz or something causing it. One idea - try hiding the amp somewhere and leaving it switched on without anything plugged in and all the controls at zero. If the dog still reacts then obviously that's it. But would it be different with any other amp? Doubt it very much.

Also a vacuum cleaner is something that a lot of dogs don't like, one of ours used to attack it as soon as he saw it!