Gibson Brands Forums

Happy 70th to my hero and mentor

bonzoboy

Today (or tomorrow-depending on which person you believe) would have marked the 70th birthday of one of the two people who inspired me to become a musician,George Harrison. It was solely because of George and John that I decided at the tender age of 9 that I was going to become a musician and nothing or nobody was going to stand in my way.I owe so much to both of them that I could never repay them in 10 lifetimes.Happy Birthday George-you have enough company with you now to be blowing the hinges off the Pearly Gates today.

Happy Birthday George! He's up there somewhere with John, Roy Orbison, all of his guitar heroes (Carl Perkins, etc). Hard to believe he would be 70. I remember the day he died. That was a bad day for me. He is also the reason I'm a musician (notice I said MUSICIAN, not lead guitar player).

PS, it's also my birthday, so I've always felt a special kinship with the man.

Happy birthday Kaleb-you certainly share your birthday with a real shining star.I share my birthday-Mar. 15-with Ry Cooder,Sly Stone,Lightnin' Hopkins,Phil Lesh,Dee Snider,Mike Love,Terrence Trent d'Arby,Bret Michaels.I'd rather share my birthday with George than all of them put together-except for Lightnin' of course.

Happy Birthday to George. One of the most under rated, finest guitar players, and song writers of all time. Your songs on Abbey Road were incredible. And your part in co-writing, and rhythm guitar playing in Cream's, "Badge", monumental. RIP L'Angelo Misterioso.

Yep, today is one of the days valuable for music, good music [thumbup] . Happy Birthday, George! And Kaleb, Happy Birthday to you and fellows , all who love the Beatles and music in general!

In birthdays it is desirable to show something,I think, beautiful or interesting. I have found an unusual song version of George’s Something performed by Elvis.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iz-_S-v2p6s&feature=player_embedded