Gibson Brands Forums

aj-45 me, serious gas affliction

revolver66

Well this serves me right. Friday afternoon, finished work. Daughter makes me a lovely cup of tea, so i settle down for a quick surf on the net. Specifically it was to look at the Thomann website where a good friend purchased a superb Guild 12 string at a great price.

So just thought i would look at the Epiphone section and saw this new(scheduled release Spring 2015) aj-45 Masterbilt.

It looks great and so do the specs. Price is £397GBP!!!. I have no experience of the Masterbilts, only my IB 1964 Texan which is awesome. Could i risk possible divorce for this?. Why did I log on, why did I log on?

I've got that same Texan and I'm getting that same AJ-45ME. I'm not expecting it to sound better than my Texan, but having a top quality AE vintage burst slope shoulder is totally worth it in my book. Had I known this was truly coming out, I would have held off on buying my AJ-220S.

I'd take the divorce! Having owned 27 extremely fine high end guitars in my life, Gibsons, Martins, Taylors, Guilds, RainSong graphite's, and more....among all those have been just three Epiphone Masterbilts. Rating all three on a scale of 1-10...each one comes in at 100. ....The new Masterbilt J-45 soon to appear??? ...Oh yes indeed....... And the line starts here! msp_thumbup.gif

I think this going to be a next purchase(along with some serious 'sucking up' to the wife). In a lot of ways I hope this doesn't sound like a Gibson. My IB 1964 Texan is 'Martinesque' in tone, so i'm sure the AJ45 ME will have it's own unique voice.

I'm really happy it's short scale. The sunburst looks nice, bone nut and saddle, old style tuners, i could go on. The Thomann price looks ridiculous. I wonder what it will RRP for in the UK?