Gibson Brands Forums

practicing singing

nodehopper

OK...so I have been playing for a few years. Can finger pick a few songs well....and a bunch more ...OK.

So I think I have found my new hurdle...to sing while I play guitar. Now I am not the most confident person with all this.....I pretty much fall apart just trying to play in front of someone. I am sure not a good singer either and the combination is killing me at this point.

I just started some vocal lessons and I am sticking to just a couple songs. Both these songs I know the guitar part almost with out thinking now.

Just 2 vocal lessons and I do already notice a significant improvement in singing. I don't go flat at the end of lines nearly as much, but I still can't belt it out and I know I sing much to quietly at this point.

I have been working on this with these two songs for 3+ months and it is coming very slowly. Just last week I tried something that I think is working really well for me and thought I would pass it on. Maybe help anyone else who is also dealing with this.

So last week I recorded myself playing just the guitar part to the songs. Burned them to CD. So I have a CD with just my two songs on it. Now each day, driving back and forth to work, I am able to sing along with the guitar part exactly as I play it. This means I can focus only on singing and how my voice interacts with the guitar melody.

It makes sense since I learned the guitar part as a separate thing.....so why not now focus only on the vocal.

Does any one else do this? Any other suggestions from the pros (or not so pros) on other techniques to learn to sing and play guitar?

What has helped me the most is recording my singing. I make a recording of any song that I'm interested in performing.

(A most humbling experience.) But then I work it back phrase by phrase, making notes to myself about what has to be fixed.