Gibson Brands Forums

Who Changes Strings, One At A Time?

Murph

I never did. I've been gigging bars for over 30 years. Les Pauls, SG's, Strats, Teles, whatever.

Even when I got my new '03 J45 RW, I just took em' off, cleaned everything, changed the 9 volt and went on.

Last year, when I got my new ES-339, I had a gig the following Sat., and for some reason, thought maybe I'd change em' one at a time so as not to unstress/restress this new guitar that I was so impressed with. You know, it was new, glue and nitro still drying.

I've done it that way ever since, just seems like a good idea.

Opinions? Esp with the glued bridges on acoustics?

Murph.

That's how I do it. I change strings one at a time, except for once a year, when I clean the fretboard with 0000 steel wool, and put on a coat of tung oil. I'd rather not stress the neck anymore often than necessary. As a result, with my Guild for an example, it hasn't needed an adjustment to the truss rod since 1992. I had a section of the frets crowned and polished last year, but otherwise, nada. I also change strings starting with both E's, to keep the stress on the neck, saddle, and nut as even and balanced as possible.

It might be overkill, but it doesn't appear to have hurt anything, either!

I change them all at once. Okay, here's my possibly flawed logic on why I do that. First, you can give the fretboard a good cleaning. Second (this may be the flawed logic part), I also figure that when you make truss rod adjustments, you usually give the neck an hour or so to kind of *settle in* before measuring. If that is sound logic, then you should be able to whip those strings off all at once and put the new ones back on easily within an hour before the neck is going to be affected by the lack of tension from zero strings. Make sense?