Gibson Brands Forums

How Come...?

Murph

Flour tortillas don't mold anymore? And is that safe to eat?

When I was a kid, we moved to Arizona. I got into some Mexican food, me...

But those flour tortillas would be all moldy in like 3 days. It was uncanny how fast they would go bad. In the fridge, out the fridge, didn't matter.

I found some the other day that had fallen back behind the dog food container and they must have been there for 2 weeks. Still looked perfect. Made me want to make a burrito and try 'em out.

I didn't, but still....

Now that I think about it, bread used to mold up a lot quicker, too. When I bake fresh bread (yea, I'm a baker) it's only good for few days, but the store bought loaves last forever.

This can't be good, eh?

• Like 1

9 minutes ago, fortyearspickn said:

Maybe that’s why we all have allergies to everything.   Like peanuts, seafood and air. 

Makes sense to me. I mean, we had preservatives in the 60's and 70's too, but they weren't THAT damned good.

Maybe that explains the rampant stupidity, as well...