Gibson Brands Forums

Wood splitting on Guitars Side!!!

Larsongs

I have a 2001 Gibson Bozeman Masterbilt J-160E Solid Top that I bought new.. It is a fantastic Guitar. It is one of my main Guitars I play all the time.. 

Today I was doing some Care & Maitenance on a few of my Guitars.. As I do regularly to keep them in excellent condition. I usually do a few at a time & rotate the Herd as needed..

After checking adjustments, inspecting I started polishing my J-160E. I noticed a crack or split on the Side about 3-4" long. It's right down the center & is following the grain of the Mahogany wood..  Are there two pieces of Wood fit together on the Sides?

I'm kind of freaking out right now as this is an important Guitar & they don't make them anymore.. I have a 50 year old Martin D-35 & it doesn't have anything like this! This is not normal.. 

My Guitars are well cared for & always kept in a controlled environment with 40-50% humidity. Temps 70-80 degrees in Southern California..

I just called Gibson. They said to send them some Pics.. Service@Gibson.com. And we'll go from there....

Edited by Larsongs

• Larsongs changed the title to Wood splitting on Guitars Side!!!

I pulled out the old file as I’ll need the original Receipt to proceed for Warranty.. If it’s Warranty..

I was sure somewhere in all my paperwork & original brochures it said Bozeman Masterbilt.. But, I must’ve been smoking Crack! I stand corrected. It is a Gibson J-160E built in 2002 

16 hours ago, Larsongs said:

I pulled out the old file as I’ll need the original Receipt to proceed for Warranty.. If it’s Warranty..

I was sure somewhere in all my paperwork & original brochures it said Bozeman Masterbilt.. But, I must’ve been smoking Crack! I stand corrected. It is a Gibson J-160E built in 2002 

Whitney Houston smoked crack look where it got her, a marriage to Bobby Brown. Be careful with that stuff its whack.

19 hours ago, Larsongs said: