Gibson Brands Forums

Learning to strum faster

wetwonder

Hi,

Waiting on my first ever Gibson - my dream 2002 mahogony j-45 to come UPS. I've been perusing the forums and found more than a few references to Pete Townshend videos, and discussions of his guitars and abilities.

His super fast strumming gives an extra range of expression. So serious question, being a learning player. How do I practice increasing my acoustic strumming speed? I know the Pete videos are an extreme example, being he's a master, but even so I noticed that when he nails it there is a physical body control that he harnesses, and you can see him going into intense concentration - so there is a mechanism to making that superhuman skill happen.

So just wondering if someone could break it down for me on the steps to improve strumming. I'm self taught. I've been surfing the internet to find some blogs on this subject but am having no luck.

Thanks,

Dave

there are many strumming patterns on the net but everything ive ever wanted to speed up I always start slug slow with a metronome and slowly increase the speed when I feel like I can do it in my sleep. just my 2 cents

Great question! Many songs I've been messing with lately 'require' that kind of speed for a few bars and since I can't get that to work - the results are bad. Half of my problem though is in the left hand. C/F/C/F becomes ... abcdefg#! I'll try the metronome on my Gibson app and try kicking it up to 200. First have to put my 'guitar bra' on to keep from scraping the design off my pickguard. I wonder how many picks I'll drop in the hole? I may need to buy some spares. Something to look forward to this weekend besides yardwork! Thanks for the great question Wet!

Hi' date='

Waiting on my first ever Gibson - my dream 2002 mahogony j-45 to come UPS. I've been perusing the forums and found more than a few references to Pete Townshend videos, and discussions of his guitars and abilities.