Gibson Brands Forums

How do you learn new songs?

mcmurray

Just interested in what the general consensus is for learning new tunes. What is your go-to method?

For me, now days I learn 100% by ear and maybe check a video of the artist if I want to nail the exact fingerings.

Well, first of all, I never rely on tabs. I had enough experience in my early days of playing with using tabs and realizing later that they were often completely wrong. So I no longer use tabs found on the internet, and I try to avoid using tabs from officially licensed and published resources, because I don't want to get into the habit of relying on tabs--it's my feeling that, as a musician, I should use the same standard notation that other musicians do...Even if, for a very complicated, arcane and historically involved reason, we play notes an octave below what we read in standard notation--the guitar does have quite a range, and in fact it's very good for chordal accompaniment because the first octave on the guitar is technically in the bass clef.

I try, more than anything, to learn by ear, but it seems as if I still have a lot of trouble with recognizing chord changes by ear--I've gotten pretty good at reproducing riffs by ear, but I struggle with the harmonic relationships between chords. At times I even struggle to recognize authentic cadences and plagal cadences. I seem to be pretty good with the dominant cadence (for what that's worth...[biggrin] .) My struggles to play songs by ear are a constant source of frustration for me. In fact, I think that's probably what upsets me most about my abilities.