Gibson Brands Forums

Best Epiphone electric for playing the blues

JefferySmith

Okay, we've discussed which Epiphone is the best slide guitar. What's the best Epiphone electric for blues? I don't have an opinion on this as I am relatively new to the blues, having burned out on classical music after 40 years of non-stop listening. I listen to the Sirius blues station at my desk and in my car, and listen to WiFi blues stations when I'm in front of my computer.

The two most obvious choices are the Lucille and the Sheraton (if no other reason than their adoption by BB King and John Lee Hooker). Actually, the Lucille seems to be out of place, with its very high end stereo electronics.

I've picked up a few books and CDs and DVDs on playing blues guitar. I wanted to get some input from any of you blues players on your favorite guitar for the blues.

The Fender Telecaster is not an option. You have to stay wthin the confines of Epiphone, but it can be a discontinued version.

Well, we did this, or something similar, not too long ago. But...I love the blues,

So...If we have to stick with Epi's? Electric Blues...Dot, Lucille, Sheraton, Riviera, SG, Les Paul...

or any other guitar you want. Acoustic Blues...EF-500 series, or the "Biscuit."

The "Blues" is a feeling (and a "style" too), but it's

only limited, by one's imagination, not the guitar. Traditionally, Semi's and even

early on, "Jazz" boxes, were often thought of as electric "blues" guitars. But now...ANYthing will work! It's

got to be in the heart/soul, and fingers. The rest is just "hardware!" LOL! IMHO!

CB

Limiting it to the Epi's I have or had, I would say my Dot is #1 and the Wildkat is good for Texas blues. I use my Epi Dot for most of my practice and playing of the blues.

Surprisingly I seldom us my Strat as Epiphone seems to consume 85% to90% of my playing time.