Gibson Brands Forums

suggestions for upgrading a WIldkat

pingber

I've got a 2006 WIlkat limited orange ... I was wondering what would you sugest for my first mod? I'm new to all of this and don't really know what would be best? Pickups? I was thinking of humbucks, or better P90's.... are they easy to replace? What else might i consider?

Wow...I don't hear too many people complain about the Wildkats! Most seem to like the pickups. Some...do change the

covers, to black plastic..for "looks" and/or a supposed reduction of a kind of "metallic" tone. I suppose some do upgrade

the pots and selector switch, IF/when they go bad. But, aside from that, you don't hear about to many "mods" on Wildkats.

They're such unique little guitars...almost like a small "Gretsch" type! IF you do change pickups, I'd go Gibson P-90's, or even GFS. Not Humbuckers, on that guitar! (But, that's just me.)

CB

I have a wildkat and like everything about it including the P-90s

only mod I could think of is maybe a better 3 way switch...mine does go funky now and then but a quick change back and forth and it's good for another couple weeks. Maybe if you wanted to upgrade the pots, but mine work fine. A bone nut? Just scratching my head trying to figure out what I would want to change ....nothing! [-X LOL

Capt

I've got a 2006 WIlkat limited orange ... I was wondering what would you sugest for my first mod? I'm new to all of this and don't really know what would be best? Pickups? I was thinking of humbucks' date=' or better P90's.... are they easy to replace? What else might i consider?[/quote']

pingber,

Actually, the first thing I'd replace would be the wiring harness; in the past, they've been less than ideal (cheap pots, switch, jack), and some people have reported that the difference is like night and day! CTS pots and a Switchcraft switch and jack work well for the upgrade. :-)