Gibson Brands Forums

Picks

Macquarrie

I am nowhere near ready to start using a pick but I had a question about the thickness. What is the deal with it? Since I am just beginning to learn, the fingers on my left hand hurt so friggin' bad it's not even funny - but I love it, I don't understand what the thickness of the pick actually does to the sound or tone. Anyone shed some light on this for me?

Thanks,

Mac

Hey there, Mac!

Well this oughta be good for a few days worth of discussion!

Personally, I use a couple of different thicknesses with picks. I tend to use a very thin one 0.53) for rhythm work and switch to a medium one (0.60) for lead. Occasionally I'll use a very thick one (1.14), but its rare and only because I've found one I really like by a company called "Wedgie". The rule of thumb seems to be: the thicker the pick, the sharper the attack and the more precise the control. At least that's how it works for me. I try to use as thin a pick as is comfortable. Many guitarists will tell you the exact opposit, I'm sure. As with all things guitar related, it is a very personal choice.

I seem to have an issue holding on to picks. I don't know if I just have a light touch or what, but they will often just slip (or shoot) out from between my fingers. For that reason, the first to picks I mentioned are from a company called "Snarling Dogs". They have this neat, bumpy kind of pistol grip design molded into them that makes them easier to grip. The Wedgies have a thumb-sized depression in them that does the same thing ... sorta.

Have fun learning. I wish you the best of luck, and may your callouses form quickly!

MIDI[/right]

Thanks for the input MIDI.