Gibson Brands Forums

Performance???

Johnt

In the gig occasionally category.

I played my first gig in 1966. In the 70s I divided my time between a Chuck Berry-esque journeyman rock band, an acoustic blues band, and teaching guitar and fiddle (and often sweeping the floor) at a very trendy little art center. After a steady diet of Fender electrics and Gibson acoustics for some 15 years, I pretty much pulled the plug (so to speak). Still got me a bad case bandophobia. Don't get me wrong, I loved the folks I played with. Somewhere along the way it just stopped being fun.

What I do enjoy is backup work and some sitting in - usually with folk or blues singers.

I mostly play at home or our cabin or at parties on friends decks but I do have one long standing gig that I play every year. A group of "Hockey Dads" from our youth association get's together and plays at our parents only party every year. I have been doing that for about 10 years and have another few to go before the last of my 4 kids get's into high school and out of youth hockey. For most of us dads it is the only gig we have but it is always a blast and the Hockey mom's all love us like rock stars when done. Hell, they even through bra's at us last year!! Woo Hoo!!!

I also played in a Christian Contemporary band for several years at our church but due to a dramatic switch in the music and players after a new head pastor came, I decided to step back for awhile and just play at special services now like Christmas and Easter.

I also played in a Christian Contemporary band for several years at our church but due to a dramatic switch in the music and players after a new head pastor came' date=' I decided to step back for awhile and just play at special services now like Christmas and Easter. [/quote']

Yes Paul

I did that for a while too. I used to really enjoy both going to church and the music.

But they didn't enjoy my "fall from grace" that is my divorce.