Gibson Brands Forums

what pedals are you using with your sg?

glider

hey guys i am new to the whole sg sound- trying to figure out what pedals might work best. I have been using a tubescream boss blues driver and mdx classic fuzz and a phaser but not exactly finding the sound i want. i love the sound of Neil Casal's sg when playing with ryan adams and i am a garcia freak... what are you using? any suggestions on new toys...

Welcome to the forums. Getting a tone that is exactly like our favorite players is a very difficult thing. You'll be able to get close, but probably won't ever be able to match it exactly.

As for pedals I use with my SG...

When I'm at a gig, I usually just plug straight into my amp. However, when I'm practicing at home, lately it's one of these two:

3303.jpg

4496.jpg

You mentioned your SG & all of your pedals, but did not say what amplifier you are using. Your amp is probably the single most important piece of gear in your signal chain, as every guitar & pedal you own gets its final voicing through the amp.

All the pedals in the world won't get "the sound" you are seeking if your amp isn't the right one for you. Your basic clean, dirty & lead sounds you desire should come from your amp, & the pedals you use will simply add a final "sheen" or "polish" to the sound.

That said, some of my favorite pedals include:

1. Ibanez Tube Screamer - great for pushing a cleaner-sounding single-channel amp into overdrive, or for getting your solo tone to cut through the mix, responsive to picking style.

2. Dunlop Rotovibe - great thicker chorus tone, and my fave "Univibe" sound, but this pedal must be run through a true bypass loop to keep it from messing with your signal when it's off.

3. Boss CE-5 Chorus - great modern chorus, especially nice to use for glassy clean tones.

4. MXR Phase 90 Phaser - a true classic - simple one knob phaser pedal delivers thick, rich phasing at a great price.