Gibson Brands Forums

What is your go to chord?

daveinspain

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I agree with ya Dave, except I use the G in the first or open position. I play mine a little different than most, I add the 3 fret on the B string. This gives it nice twang and open feel.

E A D G B E

3. 2. 0. 0. 2. 2

EADGBE

3x0033 this G sings out nice with some gain, same with this two c

x 3 x 0 1 x

x 3 x 0 3 3

this one to sound really clean with gain

0 2 2 x 0 0

but no chord are cooler for me than

x 0 2 2 x/2 x/0

I agree with ya Dave, except I use the G in the first or open position. I play mine a little different than most, I add the 3 fret on the B string. This gives it nice twang and open feel.

E A D G B E

3. 2. 0. 0. 2. 2

It seems everytime I play a G this way, I always seem to play a D next. Just such an easy transition.

I don't understand what that stuff means.

I guess i should stop posting, because this topic has left me in the dust

I too am self-taught but I've opened a chord book once or twice. When talking to other guitar players, you can't refer to a chord as "the where you put this finger there and that finger there...." Well you can, it just takes too long. Just like saying, do you know my buddy Joe? As compared to do you know the guy with the balding spot and the beard, you know he always is riding his bike everywhere and wears small t-shirts?

Perhaps that's a bad example but you see what I mean. It's quicker and easier to have a name/label for things. You'll have to learn them.

I too am self-taught but I've opened a chord book once or twice. When talking to other guitar players, you can't refer to a chord as "the where you put this finger there and that finger there...." Well you can, it just takes too long. Just like saying, do you know my buddy Joe? As compared to do you know the guy with the balding spot and the beard, you know he always is riding his bike everywhere and wears small t-shirts?