Gibson Brands Forums

The saga of the broken thumbnail.......

onewilyfool

I have acrylic nails, and they are usually tough as nails (lol) but broke one this week. had to go get a repair, and when she cut my thumb nail, she cut it tooooooo short. When I started playing, I noticed I was rubbing the side of my thumb on the strings. because the nail wasn't long enough.....darn it!!! So I had to go with the thumb pick. It took me a while to get used to, but, I did, and played with it for almost a week now, still waiting for the thumb nail to grow back. I can now play with ease, but still make some pick related mistakes, and I just don't have the "feel" of playing like I do with my nail. Oddly enough some of the mistakes are on my fretting hand, and I just didn't realize how much back and forth feedback goes on between the left and right hand during the playing. I've also tried just about every type of finger pick known to man, and just can't seem to find any that give me the feel of the bare fingers with acrylic nails. This may all be moot, as it seems that with modern pickup technology, the need for louder acoustic sound via finger picks may be a thing of the past. Still, I see players like Keb'mo with mic'd or amped acoustics still using finger and thumb picks, and I don't understand the need, unless they are looking for a certain sound. I have NOT been able to find that pleasing sound, as the metal fingerpicks create a jangly sound to my ears, and the plastic thumbpicks, although adding more bass, are beyond me how they can be used for strumming, although I see many pros strumming and getting a GREAT sound out of thumb picks (Tommy Emanuel for examaple). Just find the whole finger pick thing frustrating.....lol...What is your experience???

I never played with picks, I play with my fingers, but not only with my nails.

If I play chords I go down with my forefinger and up with my thumb (there I do use the flat of the nail)