Gibson Brands Forums

Trade ES 335 for Class 5 LP?

willdguitar

So, I have the opportunity to trade a 335 for a LP.

This is my 2008 figured top ES-335:

http://imgur.com/74xiO

http://imgur.com/zFFJD

This is the LP:

http://austin.craigslist.org/msg/3507851395.html

I'm a jazz guitarist, so losing the jazz part of the ES would lead me to invest in an L4, but the LP is tempting.

I think the LP is more expensive than the ES 335; $4,700 to $3,100.

Of course, I'd have to play it, but if I find them equal, would it be smarter to grab this LP, then get another 335 down the road?

What do you guys think? Is it an investment worth doing?

The classified ad also appears here: http://www.thegearpage.net/board/showthread.php?t=1193230 .

You gotta ask yourself if you need a Les Paul when you're a jazz guy.

It is not an investment. You buy it because you enjoy it. If it appreciates in value, great. If it does not, are you gonna be bummed about it? If you enjoy it, there is your value regardless of price paid or price realised.

I don't know. You're buying it because it looks "nice". The trouble with nice looking axes is that after a week, it starts looking familiar and then it starts looking as tiresome as a fancy maple topped coffee table. That is what comes from buying an axe that you do not really need for your genre of music. Then you think about flipping it and you find out for yourself, LPs are a dime a dozen, even Custom Shop whatevers. Trying to move it means finding that one other person who thinks that it is worth as much as you do. The seller has got no takers after 2 weeks and 4 days. What does that tell you?

Why not use the $2700 and buy the L-4CES that you really want. You'll have your ES-335 AND your L-4CES and you'll be jazzing between the 2 axes. You can never have enough jazz guitars. But a plank...not unless you mean to play jazz on it.

Good luck.