Gibson Brands Forums

Problem with Gibson LPJ CS 2013

dienow78

Hello everybody,

I'm new to the world of Gibson guitars and to this forum of course.

Now, I have recently purchased from Thomann Europe a B-STOCK GIBSON LPJ CS 2013.

After unboxing I noticed some problems with the guitar. I am including fotos so you may have a look for yourselves. The guitar came in perfect condition it has no signs of any hits or drops.

First of all the Les Paul logo is not on the headstock like the product page photo. Thomann said it's ok because the photo on their page is old. Since it is a 2013 made model...how many changes has the LPJ model gone through in 60 days time ?

As you can see the back of the headstock is not stamped all the way down and the 2013 date is missing the first 2 digits. Also the Made In Usa lettering looks crooked.

Moving on to the important part, the fretboard. It looks like the neck has snapped and some crack occured on the side of the fretboard. This crack stretches from the 16th to the 20th fret. The top of the neck also looks a bit loose.

Is this a factory defect fretboard ?

Did the previous user snap the neck ?

Since I haven't witnessed a similar Gibson I ask for any advise I can get.

Thanks to all

Gibson-LPJ-2013-CS_01.jpg

1-3_zps7123c1f2.jpg

6-2_zpsf1a29abf.jpg

3_zps624e8c5b.jpg

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

It would be very hard to break the fretboard in such a way and NOT crack the neck joint. I think it is fine. Just a poor quality piece of rosewood was selected at the factory, and it "somehow" squeaked by quality control. If it bothers you, have a luthier do a super glue drop-fill of the cavity. After this is done, you won't see it, and you won't feel it either! As for the stampings, they look fairly typical.