Gibson Brands Forums

J35 or EPI Masterbilt

brannon67

Guys, please help me out here. I have a chance(funds) to get either a Gibson J35 or an Epi Masterbilt. I know the difference between Gibson, and Epi, Im not a beginner, I have been playing for over 30 years now. Have played cheap, and expensive guitars, and I know the difference. I have two Gibson J45s one old, and one newer. I know the Masterbilts are great guitars, and I also know the J35 is a great playing, sounding and priced guitar for a guitar with the Gibson logo on its headstock. I dont know If I want to spen $1530 on a J35 or $650 for a Masterbilt a USA vs a China made guitar. What do you guys think?

The J-35 has gotten good reviews here, but to some extent it's an apples to oranges comparison.

I'm curious, however, as to why you would want to add another mahogany slope J to a stable that already includes two J-45's. Granted that most reviews say the J-35 is tonally different from the J-45, but they are still going to be more similar to each other than they are different from each other.

The J-35 has gotten good reviews here, but to some extent it's and apples to oranges comparison.

I'm curious, however, as to why you would want to add another mahogany slope J to a stable that already includes two J-45's. Granted that most reviews say the J-35 is tonally different from the J-45, but they are still going to be more similar to each other than they are different from each other.

True, you have a point there. I was looking at the Adv Jumbo, but cant get used to the longer scale.Plus, its almost $1000 more.

True, you have a point there. I was looking at the Adv Jumbo, but cant get used to the longer scale.Plus, its almost $1000 more.

Advanced Jumbos seem to depreciate faster than any other Gibson, and you can frequently get a late-model used one in perfect condition for less than $2000. Seriously.

Now that will be a different animal from your J-45!