Gibson Brands Forums

For those who used to gig, but are out of the game...

kebob

I've seen a few posts by guitarists alluding to their gigging days being behind them. Just curious: For those who have gigged and now are out of it. Do you still miss it? Do you not miss it? Do you ever want to return to gigging -- why or why not?

I've been gigging for about 5 years and I'd like to know what those on the other side of the coin are thinking -- wondering if I'll reach a point where I no longer desire playing gigs.

• Replies 63
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'd say that Vaca hit the nail on the head.

Gigging and a variable schedule 60-80+ hour work week don't work well together. Nor for me did travel that sometimes was up to three days home in a month. Had I been smarter and gotten a government day job of some sort... I'd likely still be gigging weekends if not more...

I hadda cupla chances to do what was called the Holiday Inn circuit 30 years ago or so, but didn't go there for a cupla reasons. I think I made the right choice there, too.

m

Don't miss it at all.

Like any other endeavor you can name there were highs and lows along the road......those nights when the band could do no wrong, the crowd was large and enthusiastic.....those times when the weather was gawd awful and the drummer got stranded in high water......a night when the old faithful guitar amp dies and you end up with your Les Paul plugged into the house PA with an overdrive pedal to get a little crunch.......and a ton of others, good and bad. You learn to improvise on very short notice in dealing with the people and the equipment.