Gibson Brands Forums

Amp repair for idiots.

ksdaddy

I'm not an amp mechanic. I couple months ago I picked up a half dozen amps in a bulk purchase. Sold some, kept the Ampeg B-15 for myself, and there was also a newer Chinese Randall with 2-12's that sounded great. I knew it wasn't worth much so I opted to just keep it around until I had some compelling reason not to.

Once in a while, when I turned the amp on "cold" (after not being used for a day, let's say), the amp would have almost no output and it would be distorted. Maybe if I slapped the amp, picked it up an inch and dropped it, rocked it to and fro, you know, much like we slapped the tv in the 60s to get it to work. 100% of the time it would snap out of it and not do it again until the next day... or week even.

I pulled the chassis and looked for dumb stuff, obvious arcing soot, cold solder joints. Nothing. I then saw one of the speaker terminals was very rusty. I mean tailpipe rusty. I cleaned it up with a Dremel and of course it didn't falter after that. I thought I had nailed it. But a few days ago it did it again and doesn't seem to want to come out of it. It's not contingent on which channel I use. I also plugged in an extension speaker and it did the same, thus eliminating the speaker and wires from the mix. My cleaning of the speaker terminals, while a positive thing, wasn't the fix.

I hope it's some physical problem, i.e. a bad solder joint. I can surely find that, even if it means dabbing each one with a soldering pencil until it's gone. Hopefully it's not some type of component failure because I won't have a clue how to assess.

I'm thinking of going on ebay and picking up an old audio signal generator just so I don't have to keep hitting the strings.

I have no idea what I'm doing. And yes, I'm aware of death voltage.

If anyone has any cheat hints, please let me know.