Gibson Brands Forums

Left Handed Gibsons

SG_Lefty

What is it with Gibson and Left Handed guitars? At least Fender manages to make 9 models in lefty.

Now don't get me wrong, I love both Gibson and Fender guitars, but I can't help complain a little about the lack of lefties, there's even dedicated forums for us lefties.

I would'nt even mind if Epiphone made lefties... By this I mean the explorers and the Vee's mainly. I own a SG Standard lefty and I love it, just wish they had more choices for the other guitars.

I've heard that it's to costly to re-tool, I don't buy that nowaday's... I work in the automation business for the auto companies and we retool for new product all the time, it's not a big deal if you plan for it. The investment would'nt be that much.

I'm sure there are a lot of lefties out there that would love to buy explorers and Vee's. Come On GIBSON PLEASE....

O:)

They wait until demand is deemed sufficient, then they tool up for a run of Lefty's - and get top dollar.

Build a few, then sit back and watch the sales....

My dealer has the last two NEW Lefty Les Paul '58 RI's Gibson shipped.

A couple years ago they blew 'em out so he got 'em, sold all but two.

Lefty here!

There's just not enough demand for Gibson (or any other guitar mfgr.) to build lefthanded instruments with any regularity; with broad coverage of models; in any quantities. Face it - we are the minority and have to suck hind tit when it comes to instrument availability. It's the way of the world. Nothing to whine about though...... No one will ever ask to borrow your guitar!

• 4 months later...
Lefty here!