Gibson Brands Forums

Might be off Topic.....

Sinner 13

But whats the deal with Monster cables?

My other guitarist uses them and seems to have nothing but trouble.

I use mid range cables (I never pay more than 15 bux)

And I JUST canabilized A cable I have been using for 15 yrs, that was a cheapo from the local music store that had the store info printed on it.

So do monster cables just suck in general?

I use planet waves cables only... from the cheapest (thin and with chrome plugs) to the "more expensive" ones (thicker cable, gold plugs), havent tried the "circuit breaker" cables cause i dont find a use for the circuit breaker.

I used some monster cables a while back (6 to 8 years ago) and they didnt give me any problem (almost), BUT, i think they are highly overpriced, planet waves cables have the same sound quality and reliability as monsters are supposed to have, but cost les than half.

I also have lots of cables made by me in my studio (they get a lot of use and abuse) and they serve their purpose well, at less than $5 a cable.

I would say, based on price/quality/features, monster cables do suck.

monster cables always worked great for me. i do know that the cables have a lifetime warrantee, so if you have a problem i think you can take them to your guitar dealer or where you got them from and get them replaced. thats what my guitar dealer told me...

I use planet waves cables only... from the cheapest (thin and with chrome plugs) to the "more expensive" ones (thicker cable' date=' gold plugs), havent tried the "circuit breaker" cables cause i dont find a use for the circuit breaker.

[/quote']

I use the premium Planet Waves cables and the circuit breakers. My band plays covers which can require many guitar changes in a night depending who put together that night's set list! Since we don't have a soundman to ride the mute buttons fo us the circuit breakers are a godsend. Quick, easy and reliable.