Gibson Brands Forums

Mic-ing up my amp first time

Artie Owl

I rented a Shure SM-57 instrument mic from L&M for a month and I'm planning on buying it if I like it.

I think I'll be mic-ing up the blues jr and the SG together, and record it through the Boss Micro BR-1 as a preamp/recorder.

Does anyone have any tips for mic-ing an amp as I've never done it before.

You have picked an industry standard, the SM57 ( without the foam filter ) is one of my all time favorite guitar amp and drum mics. I have miked thousands of guitar amps and have found the best mic placement to be just off center of the speaker where the dome and the cone meet and with the mic almost touching the grill cloth.

Hope this helps, it's never let me down,

David

i actually just orederd a SM57 my self yesterday with the X2U USB adapter...I'm pretty excited to start recording for the first time...I've heard around here that Audacity is the recording software to use, so I'm gonna give that a go..I'd love to hear some tips as well

I usually mic my amp like goldenone or facing just the speaker cone. Usually either a few inches back or right up to the cloth.

My friend has these little short stands that are perfect for micing amps. They have a small foot too so they don't get in the way. Before we got those we just taped the mics to stuff like guitar stands and stuff.

I like the sm57. It's solid but I wouldn't say it's amazing or anything.

I should mention I don't have a mic stand, What should I use?

Anything that is the right height. Just get a bunch of tape and tape the mic to whatever you can find.

You can also use drum stands, or broom sticks.

Mic stands are relatively cheap, get the right tool, a shorty with a boom will give you all the flexibility you need. If you decide on another mic you just swap clips. Watch out when using tape on rental gear, the wrong tape and you may pull off the finish.

David